About the Training Tests

The training tests combine sample items for different grade levels and subject areas.  The following tests are available:

  • Writing
    • Grades 4-5 FSA ELA
    • Grades 6-8 FSA ELA
    • Grades 9-11 FSA ELA
  • Reading, Language, and Listening
    • Grades 3-5 FSA ELA
    • Grades 6-8 FSA ELA
    • Grades 9-11 FSA ELA
  • Mathematics
    • Grades 3-4 FSA
    • Grades 5-6 FSA
    • Grades 7-8 FSA
    • FSA EOC

The purpose of these training tests is to become familiar with the system, functionality, and item types; the tests are not intended to guide classroom instruction.  Descriptions and response instructions for each item type are included in the Training Test User Guide that may be accessed in the “Resources” pages of this portal.  Users should refer to the tutorials or the guide to familiarize themselves with the different features and response instructions for each item type.

Answer keys for Reading, Language, and Listening and Mathematics training tests that list the item, correct answer, and grade level/subject of each item are also located in the “Resources” pages of this portal. Some students may have difficulty with some of the content aligned to higher grades within the grade level/subject range of each training test; nevertheless, this should not interfere with students’ ability to interact with an item for its intended training purpose. If an item appears to be too difficult, encourage students to experiment with the tools, choose the best answer and move on to the next item.

Computer-based accommodations for students with disabilities (e.g., text-to-speech) are not available in the training tests at this time.  These features will be available for student practice this fall.

Users must use a supported Web browser to access the Training Test site. The supported Web browsers for the training tests are Firefox 10–30, Chrome 19–35, Safari 4–7, or Internet Explorer 10 or 11.